Alexander
Tutsek-
Stiftung

The Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung is a non-profit foundation based in Munich that supports contemporary art and science. It was established in December 2000 by the entrepreneur Alexander Tutsek and Dr. Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek to share responsibility for the cultural foundations of our society.

The foundation’s vision is a vibrant world of art and science that drives social progress and contributes to a successful human coexistence. With its commitment and its funding projects, it focuses in particular on neglected, overlooked or even special and particular areas in art and science, and aims to strengthen them sustainably.

Funding area
art

EXHIBITIONS & COLLECTION

In its internationally oriented exhibition and collection activities, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung focuses on contemporary photography as well as contemporary sculptures and installations using the medium of glass. It regularly shows exhibitions on innovative topics and builds up its continuously growing collection on this basis. The aim is to open up new perspectives on important questions of our time and to provide access to the two media of photography and glass to as broad an audience as possible. Among the acquisitions of recent years are works by young and internationally renowned artists such as Tony Cragg, Mona Hatoum, Kiki Smith, Robin Rhode, Nan Goldin, Rinko Kawauchi, and Robert Rauschenberg. In the course of the development of the collection’s focus on photography in Asia, important works by Chinese artists, including Ren Hang, RongRong, and Cao Fei, entered the collection.

SUPPORT OF YOUNG TALENTS AND ARTISTS

A central concern of the promotion of young talent in the arts funding area is to improve the training opportunities for artists working in the foundation’s focus areas. To this end, in addition to student exhibition projects, productions of elaborate works of art are also financed. Together with universities, glass schools and academies, the foundation also works on the further development of training programs and supports the acquisition of adequate technical equipment. For example, the glass art class of the Institute for Artistic Ceramics and Glass (IKKG) at Koblenz University of Applied Sciences has received extensive financial support from the foundation over several years, as has the annual exhibition of the glass class of the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich or the Staatliche Glasfachschule Rheinbach. Equally important for the foundation is the support of individual artists who work with glass as a material or in the field of photography. The foundation dedicates itself to their further education and projects in various sponsorship projects, such as awarding scholarships to the renowned Pilchuck Glass School in the USA.

SUPPORT OF CULTURAL INSTITUTIONS

With long-term funding programs, support for ambitious exhibition projects, and the financing of significant acquisitions, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung supports special projects at museums and exhibition venues. Already since 2016, the foundation has been the main supporter of the Haus der Kunst in Munich, among others, where it supports innovative photography exhibitions in addition to its ongoing commitment. For the Photography and New Media Collection of the Pinakothek der Moderne, the foundation financed the purchase of important works of photography such as, most recently, the famous series The Brown Sisters by Nicholas Nixon and, as sole supporter, made possible the three-part exhibition series Photography Today – Artistic Photography in the Digital Age. Young artists in the field of photography were thus given a unique forum in a museum. The support of the C/O Berlin Talent Award, which began in 2020, is also in this spirit. It is a sponsorship award for young photographic talent that includes an exhibition in addition to the prize money.

Funding area
science

PROMOTION OF RESEARCH AND TEACHING

In the field of science, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung primarily supports research and teaching in the engineering sciences. These use the knowledge gained in the natural sciences for our daily lives and contribute an important – often overlooked – part to the technical progress of society. The focus of the funding measures is on basic and applied research in the subject areas of glass, ceramics, stones and earths. These subjects, which provide important insights for other subfields of engineering, are increasingly neglected in general funding in favor of “modern” subject areas. To ensure that they do not become a marginal field at technical universities and to make them more attractive to students, universities and innovative research projects receive financial support. For example, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung has been awarding doctoral scholarships for many years to support larger research projects at the Technical University of Dortmund, the Technical University Bergakademie Freiberg and the University of Koblenz-Landau, among others. It supports the acquisition of high-quality equipment and finances other equipment necessary for teaching.

SUPPORT OF YOUNG TALENTS

The promotion of a broad range of young professionals and engineers is an ongoing task for the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung. The main focus is on improving training opportunities and enabling young people to focus strongly and sustainably on their education through financial support. Foundation funds for training in special professional fields are available not only to students at universities, but also to students at universities of applied sciences and technical colleges. In this context, the foundation awards scholarships on a large scale as well as prize money for outstanding achievements and social commitment. At the Technical University of Munich, it has been awarding 30 Deutschlandstipendien annually to students in natural science subjects since 2019.

One foundation
two locations

With its exhibition program, accompanying lectures and events, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung is open to a broad public and sees itself as a platform for interdisciplinary exchange. Its two locations provide an excellent setting for this: The rooms of the villa in the former artists’ quarter Schwabing have become a permanent institution in Munich’s cultural landscape. During the changing exhibitions, the Art Nouveau villa, which once housed a sculptor’s studio, forms a charming contrast to the contemporary works in the collection. The BlackBox, which will additionally open in 2021, offers an excellent complement to this with its generously proportioned, modern exhibition spaces. There – in the heart of the newly developed Parkstadt Schwabing district – large-format photographs and expansive sculptures can also be presented.

Team

Dr. Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek
Chairwoman of the board, managing director

Maleachi Bühringer
Deputy chairman of the board

Dr. Ulrich Wacker
Member of the board

Dr. Jörg Garbrecht
Director

Ayşegül Cihangir
Collection management, art education

Kina Deimel
Press and public relations, digital communication

Barbara Kunze
Foundation management, funding programs science and art

Katharina Wenkler
Visitor service BlackBox, funding programs art

Dr. Petra Giloy-Hirtz
Artistic Advisor

Alexander
Tutsek-
Stiftung

Die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung ist eine gemeinnützige Stiftung mit Sitz in München, die zeitgenössische Kunst und Wissenschaft fördert. Sie wurde im Dezember 2000 von dem Unternehmer Alexander Tutsek und Dr. Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek ins Leben gerufen, um Verantwortung für die kulturellen Fundamente unserer Gesellschaft mitzutragen.

Ihre Vision ist eine lebendige Kunst- und Wissenschaftswelt, die den gesellschaftlichen Fortschritt vorantreibt und zu einem gelingenden menschlichen Zusammenleben beiträgt. Mit ihrem Engagement und ihren Förderprojekten konzentriert sie sich insbesondere auf vernachlässigte, übersehene oder auch besondere und spezielle Bereiche in Kunst und Wissenschaft und möchte diese nachhaltig stärken.

Tätigkeitsbereich
Kunst

AUSSTELLUNGEN & SAMMLUNG

In ihrer international orientierten Ausstellungs- und Sammlungstätigkeit konzentriert sich die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung auf zeitgenössische Fotografie sowie zeitgenössische Skulpturen und Installationen mit dem Medium Glas. Sie zeigt regelmäßig Ausstellungen zu innovativen Themen und baut davon ausgehend ihren kontinuierlich wachsenden Sammlungsbestand auf. Ziel ist dabei, neue Blickwinkel auf wichtige Fragestellungen unserer Zeit zu eröffnen und einem möglichst breiten Publikum Zugang zu den beiden Medien Fotografie und Glas zu ermöglichen. Zu den Ankäufen der letzten Jahre gehören Arbeiten junger sowie international renommierter Künstler*innen wie Tony Cragg, Mona Hatoum, Kiki Smith, Robin Rhode, Nan Goldin, Rinko Kawauchi oder Robert Rauschenberg. Im Zuge des Aufbaus des Sammlungsschwerpunktes zur Fotografie in Asien gingen bedeutende Werke von chinesischen Künstler*innen in die Sammlung ein, darunter Ren Hang, RongRong oder Cao Fei.

FÖRDERUNG VON NACHWUCHS UND KÜNSTLER*INNEN

Ein zentrales Anliegen der Nachwuchsförderung im Förderbereich Kunst ist die Verbesserung der Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten für Künstler*innen, die in den Schwerpunkten der Stiftung arbeiten. Dazu werden neben studentischen Ausstellungsprojekten auch Produktionen aufwändiger Kunstwerke finanziert. Gemeinsam mit Hochschulen, Glasfachschulen und Akademien arbeitet die Stiftung zudem an der Weiterentwicklung von Ausbildungsangeboten und unterstützt die Anschaffung adäquater technischer Ausstattung. So erhält die Klasse Freie Kunst Glas des Instituts für Künstlerische Keramik und Glas (IKKG) der Hochschule Koblenz von der Stiftung über mehrere Jahre eine umfangreiche finanzielle Unterstützung wie auch die Jahresausstellung der Glasklasse der Akademie der bildenden Künste in München oder die Staatliche Glasfachschule Rheinbach. Ebenso wichtig ist für die Stiftung die Förderung einzelner Künstler*innen, die mit dem Material Glas oder im Bereich Fotografie arbeiten. Ihrer Weiterbildung und ihren Projekten widmet sich die Stiftung in verschiedenen Förderprojekten wie der Vergabe von Stipendien für die renommierte Pilchuck Glass School in den USA.

FÖRDERUNG VON KULTURINSTITUTIONEN

Mit langfristig angelegten Förderprogrammen, der Unterstützung ambitionierter Ausstellungsprojekte und der Finanzierung bedeutender Ankäufe werden spezielle Projekte an Museen und Ausstellungshäusern gefördert. Bereits seit 2016 ist die Stiftung u.a. Hauptförderin des Haus der Kunst in München und unterstützt dort zusätzlich zu ihrem laufenden Engagement innovative Fotografie-Ausstellungen wie Thomas Struth. Für die Sammlung Fotografie und Neue Medien der Pinakothek der Moderne finanzierte die Stiftung den Ankauf bedeutender Werke der Fotografie wie zuletzt die berühmte Serie The Brown Sisters von Nicholas Nixon und ermöglichte als alleinige Förderin die dreiteilige Ausstellungsreihe Fotografie heute – Künstlerische Fotografie im digitalen Zeitalter. Junge Kunstschaffende auf dem Gebiet der Fotografie erhielten dadurch ein einmaliges Forum in einem Museum. In diesem Zeichen steht auch die 2020 begonnene Förderung des C/O Berlin Talent Award, einem Förderpreis für junge Fotografie-Talente, der neben dem Preisgeld eine Ausstellung beinhaltet.

 

Tätigkeitsbereich
Wissenschaft

FÖRDERUNG VON FORSCHUNG UND LEHRE

Im Bereich der Wissenschaft fördert die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung vor allem die Forschung und Lehre in den Ingenieurwissenschaften. Diese nutzen das in den Naturwissenschaften gewonnene Wissen für unser tägliches Leben und tragen einen wichtigen – häufig übersehenen – Teil zum technischen Fortschritt der Gesellschaft bei. Der Schwerpunkt der Fördermaßnahmen liegt auf der Grundlagen- und angewandten Forschung in den Fachgebieten Glas, Keramik, Steine und Erden. Diese Fächer, die wichtige Erkenntnisse für andere Teilgebiete der Ingenieurwissenschaften liefern, werden in der allgemeinen Förderung immer mehr zu Gunsten „moderner“ Fachgebiete vernachlässigt. Damit sie kein Randgebiet an den Technischen Universitäten werden und um sie für Studenten attraktiver zu machen, werden Universitäten und innovative Forschungsprojekte finanziell unterstützt. So vergibt die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung seit vielen Jahren zur Förderung größerer Forschungsprojekte Promotionsstipendien u. a. an der Technischen Universität Dortmund, der Technischen Universität Bergakademie Freiberg und der Universität Koblenz-Landau. Sie unterstützt die Anschaffung von hochwertigen Geräten und finanziert sonstige für die Lehre notwendige Ausstattungen.

FÖRDERUNG DES NACHWUCHSES

Die Förderung eines breiten Nachwuchses von Fachkräften und Ingenieur*innen ist für die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung eine fortlaufende Aufgabe. Dabei geht es vor allem um die Verbesserung der Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten und die Möglichkeit, jungen Menschen durch finanzielle Unterstützung eine starke und nachhaltige Fokussierung auf ihre Ausbildung zu ermöglichen. Stiftungsgelder für die Ausbildung in speziellen Berufsfeldern erhalten nicht nur Studierende an Universitäten, sondern auch Fachhochschüler*innen und Fachschüler*innen. In diesem Rahmen vergibt die Stiftung in großem Umfang Stipendien sowie Preisgelder für herausragende Leistungen und soziales Engagement. An der Technischen Universität München vergibt sie seit 2019 jährlich 30 Deutschlandstipendien an Studierende in naturwissenschaftlichen Fächern.

Eine Stiftung
Zwei Standorte

Mit ihrem Ausstellungsprogramm, begleitenden Vorträgen und Veranstaltungen steht die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung einem breiten Publikum offen und versteht sich als Plattform für interdisziplinären Austausch. Ihre beiden Standorte bieten dafür einen hervorragenden Rahmen: Die Räume der Villa im einstigen Künstlerviertel Schwabing haben sich zu einer festen Institution in der Münchner Kulturlandschaft entwickelt. Während der wechselnden Ausstellungen bildet die Jugendstilvilla, die einst ein Bildhaueratelier beherbergte, einen reizvollen Kontrast zu den zeitgenössischen Arbeiten der Sammlung. Die 2021 zusätzlich eröffnete BlackBox bietet dazu mit ihren großzügig angelegten, modernen Ausstellungsräumen eine hervorragende Ergänzung. Dort – im Herzen des neu entwickelten Stadtviertels Parkstadt Schwabing – können auch großformatige Fotografien und raumgreifende Skulpturen präsentiert werden.

Team

Dr. Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek
Vorstandsvorsitzende, Geschäftsführerin

Maleachi Bühringer
Stellvertretender Vorstandsvorsitzender

Dr. Ulrich Wacker
Mitglied des Vorstands

Dr. Jörg Garbrecht
Direktor

Ayşegül Cihangir
Bestandsmanagement Kunst, Kunstvermittlung

Kina Deimel
Presse und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Digitale Kommunikation

Barbara Kunze
Stiftungsmanagement, Förderprogramme Wissenschaft und Kunst

Katharina Wenkler
Besucher*innenservice BlackBox, Förderprogramme Kunst

Dr. Petra Giloy-Hirtz
Künstlerische Beratung