Pilchuck Glass School

Photos: Russel Johnson/Alex Miller

Pilchuck Glass School

Support Program for Participation in Workshops

Supporting the education of artists working with glass is an important focus of the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung's funding activities. Since 2018, it has been providing financial support to enable artists who are resident and permanently living in Germany to participate in one of the programs of the renowned Pilchuck Glass School.

Due to the high course fees and travel expenses, these courses are not affordable for most artists from Germany. In each of the past two years, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung has awarded up to 12 scholarships of up to 6,000 euros. The workshops at the world’s leading Pilchuck Glass School (founded in 1971) near Seattle, USA, are led by internationally renowned artists who work with glass. The encounter and intensive exchange with the instructors as well as with the other participants promote not only the acquisition of new skills, but also the further development of one’s own artistic work.

"The course I was able to take at the Pilchuck Glass School thanks to the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung scholarship provided me with an extraordinarily broad theoretical as well as practical space for experimentation and new inspiration. After all the experiments conducted there, it will be easy for me to now go specifically to the implementation of new works. I am very much looking forward to that.”
Keiyona C. Stumpf, Scholarship Recipient Pilchuck Glass School 2018

Conditions of Participation

No scholarships will be awarded for 2022, as workshops cancelled in 2020 and 2021 due to the spread of Covid-19 will be made up.

1. Eligibility
The scholarship is directed at artists who work with glass and who have their domicile and permanent residence in Germany at the time of application and for the duration of the funding. There is no age restriction.

2. Application
The applications have to be sent by post to the following address:

Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung
Stipendien für Pilchuck Glass School
Karl-Theodor-Str. 27
80803 München

Only complete applications will be accepted.

3. Documents
The following documents have to be submitted:

  • Contact details: First and last name, postal address, email address, telephone number, website (if available) and bank account details.
  • Proof of domicile and permanent residence in Germany at the time of application and for the duration of the funding (prerequisite).
  • Short biography including artistic training and/or previous experience in working with the material glass, as well as publications and exhibitions (1-2 pages in an A4 format).
  • Statement outlining the reasons and goals for the trip as well as the resulting expectations (at most 1-2 pages in an A4 format).
  • Illustrations of 4-5 previous works.

Applicants for a scholarship do not need to have been accepted to a course at Pilchuck Glass School in the first step.

4. Deadlines and Other Terms
The deadline for applications for participating in the 2021 Summer or Fall Program is December 4, 2020.The complete application with all documents has to be sent to Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung by this date (as per postmark).

The applicants will be informed until January 15, 2021 if they will receive a scholarship. If the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung has granted a scholarship, the monies will be paid only after the applicant has received confirmation of participation with notice to pay from Pilchuck Glass School. Please send a copy of the confirmation with notice to pay to the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung immediately.

Interested participants must apply for courses directly at Pilchuck Glass School by February 1, 2021. The summer and fall program 2020 will be published under www.pilchuck.com in late November/early December 2020.

5. Scholarship
In 2021 the foundation will be granting up to five scholarships of up to 6,000 euros. The board of the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung appraises the applications submitted by the deadline and decides about the allocation of the scholarships. Applicants will subsequently be informed by letter.

6. Report
Scholarship recipients must submit a two to three page report documenting their experience and the resulting works with photographs. This must be submitted to the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung no later than two months after the end of their stay at Pilchuck.

7. Image Copyrights
Applicants provide the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung with high-resolution photographs of the works they made at Pilchuck (jpeg, 300dpi, max. A4 format). They agree to allow the foundation to use the photos for publication as well as press releases and public relations (including website and social media) free of charge.

8. Exhibition
The Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung reserves the right to possibly exhibit the works made in Pilchuck in total or in part.

9. Legalities
In submitting an application, applicants accept the procedures and conditions as described in this call. The decisions of the foundation board are final and not subject to legal recourse.

With their application, candidates accept the data protection declaration of the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung and consent to the storage and use of their contact data as well as their bank details for the purposes of processing the scholarship as well as maintaining contact in future.

(The English translation above is provided for information purposes only. The German text remains the only official and legally binding version.)

Pilchuck Glass School

Fotos: Russel Johnson/Alex Miller

Pilchuck Glass School

Förderprogramm zur Teilnahme an Workshops

Die Förderung der Ausbildung von Künstler*innen, die mit dem Material Glas arbeiten, bildet einen wichtigen Schwerpunkt der Förderaktivitäten der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung. Seit 2018 ermöglicht sie Künstler*innen mit Wohnsitz und ständigem Aufenthalt in Deutschland die Teilnahme an einem der Programme der renommierten Pilchuck Glass School durch eine finanzielle Unterstützung.

Aufgrund der hohen Kursgebühren und Reisekosten sind diese Kurse für die meisten Kunstschaffenden aus Deutschland nicht erschwinglich. In den vergangenen zwei Jahren hat die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung jeweils bis zu 12 Stipendien in Höhe von bis zu 6.000 Euro vergeben. Die Workshops der weltweit führenden Pilchuck Glass School (gegründet 1971) nah bei Seattle, USA, werden von international hochangesehenen Künstler*innen geleitet, die mit dem Werkstoff Glas arbeiten. Die Begegnung und der intensive Austausch mit den Dozent*innen sowie mit den anderen Teilnehmenden fördern nicht nur das Erlangen neuer Fertigkeiten, sondern auch die Weiterentwicklung des eigenen künstlerischen Schaffens.

„Der Kurs, den ich dank des Stipendiums der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung an der Pilchuck Glass School belegen konnte, hat mir einen außerordentlich breiten theoretischen wie auch praktischen Raum für Versuche und neue Inspirationen geboten. Nach all den dort durchgeführten Experimenten wird es für mich leicht sein wird, nun gezielt an die Umsetzung neuer Arbeiten zu gehen. Darauf freue ich mich sehr.“
Keiyona C. Stumpf, Stipendiatin Pilchuck Glass School 2018

Teilnahmebedingungen

Für das Jahr 2022 werden keine Stipendien vergeben, da die Corona-bedingt in den Jahren 2020 und 2021 ausgefallenen Workshops nachgeholt werden.

1. Bewerberkreis
Das Stipendium richtet sich an Künstler*innen, die mit Glas arbeiten und zum Zeitpunkt ihrer Bewerbung und für die Dauer der Förderung ihren Wohnsitz und ständigen Aufenthalt in Deutschland haben. Es gibt keine Altersbeschränkung.

2. Antrag
Die Anträge müssen postalisch an die folgende Adresse gesendet werden:

Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung
Stipendien für Pilchuck Glass School
Karl-Theodor-Str. 27
80803 München

Nur vollständige Bewerbungen werden akzeptiert.

3. Unterlagen
Folgende Unterlagen müssen vollständig eingereicht werden:

  • Kontaktdaten: Vor- und Nachname, Adresse, E-Mail, Telefon, Internetseite (falls vorhanden) sowie Kontoverbindung
  • Nachweis über einen Wohnsitz und ständigen Aufenthalt in Deutschland zum – Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung und für die Dauer der Förderung (Voraussetzung)
  • Kurzbiografie, aus der eine künstlerische Ausbildung und / oder bisherige Erfahrungen im Umgang mit dem Werkstoff Glas sowie Publikationen und
    Ausstellungen hervorgehen (1–2 DIN A4-Seiten)
  • Exposé, in dem die Gründe und Ziele der Reise sowie der damit verknüpften Erwartungen dargestellt werden (maximal 1–2 DIN A4-Seiten)
  • 4–5 Beispiele bisheriger Arbeiten (Abbildungen)
  • Ausgefüllte DSGVO-Einwilligung
  • Für eine Bewerbung ist im ersten Schritt keine Kurszulassung der Pilchuck Glass School notwendig.

4. Teilnahmeschluss und weitere Fristen
Bewerbungsschluss für das Stipendium bei der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung ist der 4. Dezember 2020 für eine Teilnahme an dem Sommer- oder Herbstprogramm 2020. Die vollständigen Unterlagen müssen bis zu diesem Tag an die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung gesendet werden. Es gilt das Datum des Poststempels.

Die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung teilt bis zum 15. Januar 2021 den Bewerber*innen mit, ob sie ein Stipendium erhalten. Bei einer Zusage wird das Stipendium erst ausbezahlt, wenn der/die Bewerber*in eine Teilnahmebestätigung mit Zahlungsaufforderung der Pilchuck Glass School erhalten und der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung in Kopie übermittelt hat.

Die Anmeldung für einen Kurs der Pilchuck Glass School muss bis zum 1. Februar 2021 direkt bei Pilchuck erfolgen. Das Sommer- und Herbstprogramm 2021 wird ca. Ende November/Anfang Dezember 2020 auf www.pilchuck.com veröffentlicht.

5. Stipendium
Es werden 2021 bis zu fünf Stipendien pro Jahr in Höhe von jeweils maximal 6.000 Euro vergeben. Der Vorstand der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung prüft die bis zum Bewerbungsschluss eingegangenen Anträge und entscheidet über die Vergabe der Stipendien. Die Bewerber*innen werden anschließend per Brief benachrichtigt.

6. Abschlussbericht
Die Stipendiat*innen müssen in einem zwei- bis dreiseitigen Bericht mit fotografischer Dokumentation ihre gesammelten Erfahrungen und die entstandenen Arbeiten zeigen. Dieser ist spätestens zwei Monate nach Beendigung des Aufenthaltes der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung vorzulegen.

7. Bildrechte
Die Bewerber*innen stellen der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung hochauflösende Fotos ihrer in Pilchuck entstandenen Werke (JPEG-Format, 300 dpi, max. DIN A4-Format) zur Verfügung und willigen ein, dass sie für Publikationen sowie für die Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit der Stiftung (inkl. Webseite und Social Media) honorarfrei abgebildet werden können.

8. Ausstellung
Die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung behält sich das Recht vor, die in Pilchuck entstandenen Arbeiten eventuell ganz oder partiell auszustellen.

9. Rechtliches
Jede/Jeder Bewerber*in erkennt mit Zusendung ihres/seines Antrags die festgelegten Bedingungen an. Die Entscheidungen des Stiftungsvorstandes sind nicht anfechtbar. Der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen.

Mit seiner/ihrer Bewerbung erkennt der/die Antragsteller*in die Datenschutzerklärung der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung an und stimmt der Speicherung und Verwendung seiner/ihrer Kontaktdaten sowie seiner/ihrer Kontoverbindung zu Zwecken der Abwicklung der Förderung sowie für die zukünftige Kontaktpflege zu.