Dr. Jörg Garbrecht becomes Director of the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung

Since 1 October, Dr. Jörg Garbrecht has strengthened the team of the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung as director. The art historian studied at the University of St. Andrews and received his doctorate from Oxford University. He has worked at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Tate Modern, the National Museums in Berlin, the Nolde Foundation in Seebüll and Berlin, whose branch at the Gendarmenmarkt he established and directed, and the municipal Kunsthalle Mannheim. Most recently, he was senior curator at the Art and Nature Foundation of entrepreneur Susanne Klatten.

“To have won Dr. Jörg Garbrecht as director for the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung gives me great pleasure,” says Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek, chairwoman of the foundation’s board. “Mr. Garbrecht is a proven foundation manager with a broad, international wealth of experience and an imaginative exhibition curator. His expertise will strengthen and have a far-reaching impact on the successful work of our foundation.”

Jörg Garbrecht curates exhibitions ranging from Art Nouveau to contemporary art, he is a guest speaker and author of numerous catalogs and art historical articles. He has diverse experience with new museum buildings, repositioning and dynamizing collections in terms of content, and sustainable destination management.

“Good art is a sensual and intellectual supercharger that touches and moves us far beyond our immediate encounter in the exhibition space,” says Jörg Garbrecht. “With its Villa and the new BlackBox, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung offers predestined locations for this very special art experience.”

Dr. Jörg Garbrecht wird Direktor der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung

Seit dem 1. Oktober verstärkt Dr. Jörg Garbrecht das Team der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung als Direktor. Der Kunsthistoriker studierte an der University of St. Andrews und wurde an der Oxford University promoviert. Arbeitsstationen waren das Philadelphia Museum of Art, die Tate Modern, die Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin, die Nolde Stiftung in Seebüll und Berlin, deren Dependance am Gendarmenmarkt er aufbaute und leitete, und die städtische Kunsthalle Mannheim. Zuletzt war er leitender Kurator an der Stiftung Kunst und Natur der Unternehmerin Susanne Klatten.

„Herrn Dr. Jörg Garbrecht als Direktor für die Alexander-Tutsek Stiftung gewonnen zu haben, freut mich sehr“, sagt Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek, die Vorstandsvorsitzende der Stiftung. „Herr Garbrecht ist ein ausgewiesenen Stiftungsmanager mit breitem, internationalem Erfahrungsschatz und ein ideenreicher Ausstellungskurator. Seine Expertise wird die erfolgreiche Arbeit unserer Stiftung stärken und weitreichend prägen.“

Jörg Garbrecht kuratiert Ausstellungen vom Jugendstil bis zur zeitgenössischen Kunst, ist Gastredner und Autor zahlreicher Kataloge und kunstwissenschaftlicher Beiträge. Er verfügt über vielfältige Erfahrungen mit neuen Museumsbauten, inhaltlichen Neupositionierungen und Dynamisierungen von Sammlungen und mit nachhaltigem Destinationsmanagement.

„Gute Kunst ist ein sinnlicher und intellektueller Supercharger, der uns weit über unsere unmittelbare Begegnung im Ausstellungsraum hinaus berührt und bewegt“, so Jörg Garbrecht. „Die Alexander-Tutsek Stiftung bietet mit ihrer Villa und der neuen BlackBox prädestinierte Orte für dieses ganz besondere Kunsterleben.“