Robert Rauschenberg, Untitled, from the series "Studies for Chinese Summerhall", 1983

© Robert Rauschenberg Foundation / Graphicstudio, University of South Florida, Tampa/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Courtesy Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung, Photo: Nikolaus Steglich

22 MARCH – 18 OCTOBER 2019

Primary Gestures

The Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung presented, under the title Primary Gestures, photographs by Robert Rauschenberg from the 1980s and contemporary installations of glass by Mona Hatoum, Hassan Khan, Jana Sterbak, and Terry Winters, all of which have been recently acquired by the foundation for its collection.

Gestures are movements of the body that serve as nonverbal communication, small acts of mutual understanding and action. In the early 1980s, the American artist Robert Rauschenberg was one of the first Western artists to travel to China, hoping to send that kind of sign, a gesture of interest in a distant and foreign culture. Of the hundreds of color photographs he brought back from that trip, he selected twenty-eight motifs and published them under the title Studies for Chinese Summerhall (1983). These photographs can be read as recordings of gestures from daily life, both modern and traditional, in a transforming Chinese society.

Exhibition Venue
Villa
Karl-Theodor-Str. 27
80803 Munich

Directions

Hassan Khan, The Knot, 2012 (Detail)

© Hassan Khan, Courtesy Hassan Khan & Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris, Photo: Sebastiano Pellion

The exhibition presented Rauschenberg’s photo series alongside four glass installations by renowned international artists. They incorporate everyday functional objects, such as a knot or a circle, into their works and transform these primary gestures into an artistic object. This lends them a special presence and significance. For the artist and for the viewer, the point is, as Hassan Khan expresses it, to read, decipher, and understand these primary gestures.

With works by:

Robert Rauschenberg

Mona Hatoum

Hassan Khan

Jana Sterbak

Terry Winters

Robert Rauschenberg, Untitled, aus der Serie „Studies for Chinese Summerhall", 1983

© Robert Rauschenberg Foundation/Graphicstudio, University of South Florida, Tampa/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Courtesy Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung, Foto: Nikolaus Steglich

22. MÄRZ – 18. OKTOBER 2019

Primäre Gesten

Die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung zeigte unter dem Titel Primäre Gesten Fotografien von Robert Rauschenberg aus den 1980er Jahren und zeitgenössische Installationen in Glas von Mona Hatoum, Hassan Khan, Jana Sterbak und Terry Winters, – allesamt Neuerwerbungen der Stiftung für ihre Sammlung.

Gesten sind Bewegungen des Körpers, die der nonverbalen Kommunikation dienen, kleine Akte der Verständigung und des Handelns. Anfang der 1980er Jahre ging der amerikanische Künstler Robert Rauschenberg als einer der ersten westlichen Künstler nach China mit dem Wunsch, ein solches Zeichen zu setzen, eine Geste des Interesses an der fernen und fremden Kultur. Aus den hunderten von Farbfotografien, die er von dieser Reise mitbrachte, wählte er 28 Motive aus und edierte sie unter dem Titel Studies for Chinese Summerhall (1983). Diese Fotoarbeiten lesen sich wie Aufzeichnungen von Gesten des Alltags, des modernen wie des traditionellen Lebens in einer sich wandelnden chinesischen Gesellschaft.

Ausstellungsort
Villa
Karl-Theodor-Str. 27
80803 München

Anfahrt

Hassan Khan, The Knot, 2012 (Detail)

© Hassan Khan, Courtesy Hassan Khan & Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris, Foto: Sebastiano Pellion

Die Ausstellung stellte der Fotoserie von Rauschenberg vier Installationen mit dem Material Glas von renommierten internationalen Künstler*innen gegenüber. Sie nehmen alltägliche funktionale Dinge wie einen Knoten oder einen Kreis in ihren Werken auf und transformieren diese primären Gesten in ein künstlerisches Objekt. Ihnen kommt so eine besondere Präsenz und Bedeutung zu. Für den/die Künstler*in wie für den/die Betrachter*in geht es darum, wie Hassan Khan es formuliert, jene primären Gesten zu lesen, zu entziffern und zu verstehen.

Mit Arbeiten von:

Robert Rauschenberg

Mona Hatoum

Hassan Khan

Jana Sterbak

Terry Winters