Matthieu Gafsou, Injection I, 2013

© Matthieu Gafsou, Courtesy Galerie C

22 JANUARY – 2 SEPTEMBER 2016

Life Is Not A Beach

Continuing its thematic exhibitions, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung showed contemporary photographs and sculptures. Under the title Life is not a Beach, the exhibition focused on the darker sides of life.

One example of this is the oppressive world of drug addicts. Photographer Matthieu Gafsou documented this in his 30 photographs in an authentic, yet at the same time poetically attentive way. The 20 sculptures, the second focus of the exhibition, were made of the everyday yet multi-layered material glass as well as mixed media. Internationally known (Philip Baldwin & Monica Guggisberg, Mona Hatoum, Silvia Levenson, Janusz Walentynowicz and others) as well as young artists profoundly explored the general fears as well as the inner and outer conflicts of people in their different works.

 

Exhibition Venue
Villa
Karl-Theodor-Str. 27
80803 Munich

Directions

Matthieu Gafsou, Armando, 2013

© Matthieu Gafsou, Courtesy Galerie C

Photographies by Matthieu Gafsou

The photographs that the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung showed in Life Is Not A Beach were taken from the project Only God Can Judge Me by Swiss photographer Matthieu Gafsou. He photographed for over a year in the drug scene of Lausanne. Using a variety of formal approaches, he soberly yet sensitively documents the lives of addicts. His dignified portraits of long-time drug addicts with their drawn faces impressively personalize a social problem. With still lifes, he captures their contradictory habitat. Documentary-hard close-ups of drug packets, utensils, aseptic injection rooms, surveillance cameras and the like give an immediate impression of the daily struggle for existence of addicts. The poetic-looking photographs of nocturnal scenes of scene meeting places, on the other hand, allowed the viewer to glimpse the desirable side of intoxication.

With works by:

Philip Baldwin & Monica Guggisberg

Maria Lugossy

Aleš Vašícek

Janusz Walentynowicz

Mona Hatoum

Luke Jerram

Richard Meitner

Cassandra Straubing

Shige Fujishiro

Karen LaMonte

Donghai Guan

Silvia Levenson

Christiane Budig

Antoine Leperlier

Katharina Kleinfeld

Shima Koike

Luke Jerram, Ebola, 2015

Photo: Heller Gallery, New York

Sculptures With the Medium Glass and Mixed Media

The sculptures of international artists interpreted the theme of the exhibition in another material: they are made of glass as well as with mixed media. The material glass, familiar from everyday life, transforms in the hands of artists into a multi-layered, sometimes unexpected medium. Its complexity and the possibility of providing insights into different levels predestines the material glass in particular to vividly depict the darker sides of life.

The deep valley of depression was abstracted in the exhibition by a one-meter dark blue glass lake (Maria Lugossy) and addressed by a frozen sitting figure (Janusz Walentynowicz). The glass viruses of HIV and Ebola, visible to the core, addressed the fear of incurable diseases (Luke Jerram). A young fox in girl’s clothes drastically drove home the internal and external damage that children and young people can experience (Silvia Levenson). The desolation left by trying to solve problems with an addictive substance was vividly demonstrated by a 2.50-meter installation made of bottle halves (Mona Hatoum). The work of a Japanese artist (Shigenobu Fujishiro) drew attention to the problems of homeless people with an artfully caricatured Chanel shopping bag made of glass beads.

Matthieu Gafsou, Injection I, 2013 © Matthieu Gafsou, Courtesy Galerie C

22. JANUAR – 2. SEPTEMBER 2016

Life is not a Beach

In der Fortsetzung ihrer Themenausstellungen zeigte die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung zeitgenössische Fotografien und Skulpturen. Unter dem Titel Life is not a Beach wurden in der Ausstellung die Schattenseiten des Lebens thematisiert.

Ein Beispiel dafür ist die beklemmende Welt von Drogenabhängigen. Der Fotograf Matthieu Gafsou dokumentiert diese in seinen 30 Fotografien auf eine authentische, gleichzeitig auch poetisch-achtsame Weise. Die 20 Skulpturen, der zweite Schwerpunkt der Ausstellung, sind aus dem alltäglichen und doch vielschichtigem Material Glas sowie Mixed Media gefertigt. International bekannte (Philip Baldwin & Monica Guggisberg, Mona Hatoum, Silvia Levenson, Janusz Walentynowicz und weitere) sowie junge Kunstschaffende ergründen in ihren unterschiedlichen Arbeiten tiefsinnig die generellen Ängste sowie die inneren und äußeren Konflikte der Menschen.

 

Ausstellungsort
Villa
Karl-Theodor-Str. 27
80803 München

Anfahrt

Matthieu Gafsou, Armando, 2013 © Matthieu Gafsou, Courtesy Galerie C

Matthieu Gafsou, Blood & Water, 2013 © Matthieu Gafsou, Courtesy Galerie C

Fotografien von Matthieu Gafsou

Die Fotografien, die die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung in Life is not a Beach zeigte, stammen aus dem Projekt Only God Can Judge Me des Schweizer Fotografen Matthieu Gafsou. Er fotografierte über ein Jahr in der Drogenszene von Lausanne. Durch den Einsatz verschiedener formaler Herangehensweisen, dokumentiert er das Leben von Abhängigen nüchtern und zugleich einfühlsam. Seine würdevollen Portraits langjähriger Drogenabhängiger mit ihren gezeichneten Gesichtern personalisieren eindrucksvoll ein gesellschaftliches Problem. Mit Stillleben fängt er ihren widersprüchlichen Lebensraum ein. Dokumentarisch-harte Nahaufnahmen von Drogenpäckchen, Gebrauchsutensilien, aseptischen Spritzräumen, Überwachungskameras und ähnliches geben einen unmittelbaren Eindruck vom täglichen Daseinskampf Abhängiger. Die poetisch anmutenden Fotografien nächtlicher Schauplätze von Szene-Treffpunkten lassen den Betrachter dagegen die begehrenswerte Seite des Rauschs erahnen.

Mit Arbeiten von:

Philip Baldwin & Monica Guggisberg

Maria Lugossy

Aleš Vašícek

Janusz Walentynowicz

Mona Hatoum

Luke Jerram

Richard Meitner

Cassandra Straubing

Shige Fujishiro

Karen LaMonte

Donghai Guan

Silvia Levenson

Christiane Budig

Antoine Leperlier

Katharina Kleinfeld

Shima Koike

Luke Jerram, Ebola, 2015 Foto: Heller Gallery, New York

Skulpturen aus dem Medium Glas und Mixed Media

Die Skulpturen internationaler Künstler*innen interpretierten das Thema der Ausstellung in einem weiteren Material: Sie sind aus Glas sowie mit Mixed Media hergestellt. Der aus dem Alltag vertraute Werkstoff Glas verwandelt sich in der Hand von Kunstschaffenden in ein vielschichtiges, teils unerwartetes Medium. Seine Komplexität und die Möglichkeit Einblicke in verschiedene Ebenen zu geben, prädestiniert insbesondere das Material Glas dazu, die dunklen Seiten des Lebens eindringlich darzustellen.

Das tiefe Tal der Depression wurde in der Ausstellung durch einen ein Meter großen dunkelblauen Glas-See abstrahiert (Maria Lugossy) und durch eine erstarrt sitzende Figur (Janusz Walentynowicz) angesprochen. Die gläsernen bis ins Innerste sichtbaren Viren von HIV und Ebola thematisierten die Angst vor unheilbaren Krankheiten (Luke Jerram). Ein junger Fuchs in Mädchenkleidern fuhr drastisch die inneren und äußeren Schäden, die Kinder und Jugendliche erfahren können vor Augen (Silvia Levenson). Die Trostlosigkeit, die der Versuch, Probleme mit einem Suchtmittel zu lösen, hinterlässt, zeigte eindringlich eine 2,50 Meter große Installation aus Flaschenhälften (Mona Hatoum). Das Werk eines Japaners (Shigenobu Fujishiro) machte mit einer kunstvoll aus Glasperlen karikierten Chanel-Einkaufstüte auf die Probleme von Obdachlosen aufmerksam.