7 FEBRUARY 2012 – 30 APRIL 2013

Ariane Forkel, Casanovas Kabinett, 2006 (Detail)

Courtesy Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung, Photo: Hans-Joachim Becker

In the Name of Love

Love was and is one of the principal themes in art. Humans have a need to express love, and the pain of love, in a tangible form. Literature, music, paintings and sculptures created over the centuries are testimony of their never-ending attempts. The exhibition at the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung dealt with the many facets of love from a very special perspective: not only the bright, the welcome part of love is explored, but so is its hidden, secretive, and dark side. And all this is expressed using a material that is seldom seen in art displays. On show were 30 objects created by 26 artists from around the world who work mainly with glass and mixed media.

Exhibition Venue
Villa
Karl-Theodor-Str. 27
80803 Munich

Directions

Kate Baker, Untitled (Hayley), 2009

Courtesy Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung, Photo: Hans-Joachim Becker

Glass as A Material in Art

Glass is one of the areas of interest Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung, which likes to pick up the unusual. Glass in art has been around for a long time. One example are the purposeless vases of Emile Gallé or Daum. With the studio glass movement, which celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2012, glass as a material underwent a dramatic change: away from decorative, bound forms such as vases or bowls, towards ambiguous statements. The medium of glass had developed – unnoticed by many – into an independent field in art.

Simone Fezer, Rooted/Verwurzelt, 2009

Courtesy Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung, Photo: Hans-Joachim Becker

The Facets of Love in the Exhibition

The exhibition showed objects by internationally known artists, but also young and in Europe still unknown talents could be discovered. Especially they use the material glass carefree in combination with other materials such as branches, fabrics, photographs or wire mesh to feel the light and dark sides of love. Like, for example, the wings of the young Canadians Tanya Lyons & Mathieu Grodet sewn together from many pieces. They conveyed the high spirits that love can trigger, but also made one think of the danger of getting burned.

In the “land of poets and thinkers”, complicated themes still seemed to be a concern for artists at the time of the exhibition. They were represented in large numbers from the north of Germany to the south with emotionally haunting works. The works drastically demonstrate the cruel power of love to destroy hearts (Ariane Forkel) or even tear them out (Simone Fezer). The smoothly polished red couple by Franz X. Höller standing next to each other made it clear in the exhibition that love in partnership makes demands and compromises shape the good partnership. Touching aspects of the very special affection of siblings were revealed by the objects of Christiane Budig and Sibylle Peretti.

The specific love relationship between mother and child is one of the predominant themes of the large disturbing sculptures by Christina Bothwell (USA). At the same time, they hint at the danger of too much love, which – represented as an octopus – engulfs and crushes everything. The glass HI virus thematizes one of the dark sides of sexual and partnership love and in this context also reminds us of charity in dealing with the sick (Luke Jerram). Objects came from Israel and New Zealand, as well as from China and Japan. Lino Tagliapietra, the great and revered teacher of many artists, deals with the love of home in the form of profoundly colored reflections in the water of Venice.

With works by:

Kate Baker

Christina Bothwell

Christiane Budig

José Chardiet

Katherine Coleman

Mel Douglas

Steven Easton

Simone Fezer

Ariane Forkel

Mathieu Gordet

Guan Donghai

Franz Xaver Höller

Luke Jerram

Gina Jones

Dafna Kaffeman

Marta Klonowska

Silvia Levenson

Li Zhenning

Tanya Lyons

Masayo Odahashi

Sibylle Peretti

7. FEBRUAR 2012 – 30. APRIL 2013

Ariane Forkel, Casanovas Kabinett, 2006 (Detail) Foto: Hans-Joachim Becker © Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung

In the Name of Love

Liebe war und ist in der Kunst ein wichtiges Thema. Der Mensch sehnt sich danach, Liebe und Liebesleid erfassbar zu machen. Von diesem ewigen Versuch zeugen über die Jahrhunderte Literatur, Musik, Malerei und Skulptur. Die Ausstellung In the Name of Love zeigte die vielen Facetten der Liebe. Nicht nur die helle, erwünschte Seite der Liebe wurde beleuchtet, sondern auch ihre verborgene, geheimnisvolle, dunkle. Und dies mit einem Material, das in der Kunst eher selten zu sehen ist: Glas. In der schönen Schwabinger Jugendstilvilla der Stiftung wurden im Rahmen der Ausstellung 30 Objekte von 26 Künstler*innen aus der ganzen Welt ausgestellt.

Ausstellungsort
Villa
Karl-Theodor-Str. 27
80803 München

Anfahrt

Kate Baker, Untitled (Hayley), 2009 Foto: Hans-Joachim Becker © Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung

Das Material Glas in der Kunst

Glas ist eines der Interessengebiete Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung, die gerne Ungewöhnliches aufgreift. Glas in der Kunst gibt es schon lange. Ein Beispiel sind die zweckbefreiten Vasen von Emile Gallé oder Daum. Mit der Studioglasbewegung, die im Jahr 2012 ihr 50-jähriges Jubiläum feierte, erfuhr das Material Glas eine dramatische Veränderung erfahren: weg von dekorativen, gebundenen Formen wie Vasen oder Schalen, hin zu vieldeutigen Aussagen. Das Medium Glas hatte sich – unbemerkt von Vielen – zu einem eigenständigen Bereich in der Kunst entwickelt.

Simone Fezer, Rooted/Verwurzelt, 2009 Foto: Hans-Joachim Becker © Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung

Die Facetten der Liebe in der Ausstellung

Die Ausstellung zeigte Objekte von international bekannten Künstler*innen, aber es ließen sich auch junge und in Europa noch unbekannte Talente entdecken. Gerade sie verwenden das Material Glas unbekümmert in Kombination mit anderen Materialen wie Äste, Stoffe, Fotografien oder Drahtgeflecht, um die hellen und dunklen Seiten der Liebe zu erspüren. Wie zum Beispiel die aus vielen Teilen zusammen genähten Flügel der jungen Kanadier Tanya Lyons & Mathieu Grodet. Sie vermittelten die Hochstimmung die Liebe auslösen kann, ließen aber auch an die Gefahr denken, sich zu verbrennen.

Im „Land der Dichter und Denker“ schienen zum Zeitpunkt der Ausstellung komplizierte Themen für die Künstler*innne nach wie vor ein Anliegen zu sein. Sie waren vom Norden Deutschlands bis in den Süden zahlreich mit emotional eindringlichen Arbeiten vertreten. Die Werke demonstrieren drastisch die grausame Macht der Liebe, Herzen zu zerstören (Ariane Forkel) oder gar herauszureißen (Simone Fezer). Das nebeneinander stehende glatt geschliffene rote Paar von Franz X. Höller ließ in der Ausstellung deutlich werden, dass partnerschaftliche Liebe Anforderungen stellt und Kompromisse die gute Partnerschaft formen. Berührende Aspekte der ganz eigenen Zuneigung von Geschwistern offenbarten die Objekte von Christiane Budig und Sibylle Peretti.

Die spezifische Liebesbeziehung zwischen Mutter und Kind ist eines der vorherrschenden Themen der großen verstörenden Skulpturen von Christina Bothwell (USA). Gleichzeitig deuten sie die Gefahr der zu großen Liebe an, die – als Oktopus dargestellt – alles umschlingt und erdrückt. Der gläserne HI-Virus thematisiert eine der dunklen Seiten der sexuellen und partnerschaftlichen Liebe und erinnert in diesem Zusammenhang auch an die Nächstenliebe im Umgang mit Kranken (Luke Jerram). Aus Israel und Neuseeland kamen Objekte, ebenso wie aus China und Japan. Lino Tagliapietra, der große und verehrte Lehrmeister vieler Künstler*innen, beschäftigt sich in seiner Arbeit mit der Liebe zur Heimat in Form von tiefgründig farbigen Reflektionen im Wasser Venedigs.

Mit Arbeiten von:

Kate Baker

Christina Bothwell

Christiane Budig

José Chardiet

Katherine Coleman

Mel Douglas

Steven Easton

Simone Fezer

Ariane Forkel

Mathieu Gordet

Guan Donghai

Franz Xaver Höller

Luke Jerram

Gina Jones

Dafna Kaffeman

Marta Klonowska

Silvia Levenson

Li Zhenning

Tanya Lyons

Masayo Odahashi

Sibylle Peretti