Exhibition archive

4 JUNE 2020 – 26 FEBRUARY, 2021

About Us. Young Photography from China

What does photography tell us about the life experiences of the individual in the face of radical change in society? What visual languages are being invented by a younger generation of artists in China in search of their own self-understanding? The exhibition presented a selection of 70 photographs from the last 20 years by 14 artists from China. After Robert Rauschenberg’s Western look at China in the previous exhibition, these photographs showed interior views of the artists living in the country.

read more

22 MARCH – 18 OCTOBER 2019

Primary Gestures

Under the title Primary Gestures, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung showed photographs from Robert Rauschenberg’s 1980s series Study for Chinese Summerhall and contemporary installations using the medium of glass by Mona Hatoum, Hassan Khan, Jana Sterbak, and Terry Winters. Rauschenberg’s photographs, which read like records of everyday gestures in a changing Chinese society, were juxtaposed in the exhibition with sculptures that take everyday functional things like a knot or a circle in their works and transform these primary gestures into an artistic object.

read more

26 JANUARY – 16 NOVEMBER 2018

Viewing the Other

Under the title Viewing the Other the foundation presented contemporary glass sculptures by international artists in the context of a series of thematic exhibitions. The title of the exhibition played with the double meaning of the words. The artists look at things from (an)other perspective and at the same time address their interest in the “other”: the self versus the other (person), the internal versus the external body, civilization versus wilderness, earth versus cosmos, life versus death. They are interested in perceiving the other, in the relationship between contemplation and recognition, in understanding.

read more

20 JANUARY – 20 OCTOBER 2017

lebenswelt | life-world

Under the title lebenswelt | life-world, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung showed contemporary sculptures by Japanese artists and photographs by the Japanese photographer Rinko Kawauchi. Subjective everyday experiences, temporal processes in nature, interpersonal communication are the focus of the artworks from Japan.

read more

22 JANUARY – 2 SEPTEMBER 2016

Life Is Not A Beach

Continuing its thematic exhibitions, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung showed contemporary photographs and sculptures. Under the title Life Is Not A Beach, this exhibition addressed the dark sides of life.

read more

17 OKTOBER 2014 – 14 AUGUST 2015

Ann Wolff | Persona

The second project of the exhibition series Master | Meister was dedicated to the German-Swedish artist Ann Wolff (born 1937). Its focus was on those sculptures that Ann Wolff created in the last five years specifically for this exhibition. On view in the garden was a new aluminum sculpture, older works as well as pastel drawings.

read more

15 OCTOBER 2013 – 10 APRIL 2014

Where Are You? Sculptures by Erwin Eisch

With the exhibition Where are you? Sculptures by Erwin Eisch, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung launched the new exhibition series Master | Meister in addition to its thematic and country exhibitions. It introduced outstanding artists who use glass as a medium for artistic expression in their work. The first exhibition in the new series explored the multifaceted work of Erwin Eisch (born 1927), one of the pioneers of the studio-glass movement.

read more

7 FEBRUARY 2012 – 30 APRIL 2013

In the Name of Love

Love was and is one of the principal themes in art. Humans have a need to express love, and the pain of love, in a tangible form. Literature, music, paintings and sculptures created over the centuries are testimony of their never-ending attempts. The exhibition at the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung dealt with the many facets of love from a very special perspective: not only the bright, the welcome part of love was explored, but so is its hidden, secretive, and dark side. And all this was expressed using a material that is seldom seen in art displays: glass.

read more

29 MARCH – 28 JULY 2011

This Side of Africa

Journeys are connected with a yearning for the unknown. The yearning to experience life differently and the wish to experience oneself with a different view of the world are our means of transport, much more than a car, airplane, or ship. These themes interest the sculptor Jens Gussek in his works of glass and mixed media as well Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek in her photographs.

read more

29 APRIL 2010 – 27 JANUARY 2011

Frozen-in Tension

Tension and relaxation, strain and rest – the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung in Munich dedicated this exhibition to this complex of themes. Under the title Frozen-in Tension glass sculptures by significant international artists as well as works by the German photographer Jessica Backhaus were on view. The title of the exhibition – a technical term from the area of heat treatment – was multilayered: It addressed the subject as well as the material of the works. The sculptures made of hot liquid glass, now cold and solidified, seemed at first glance to rest in themselves. After looking at them longer or more closely, viewers observed that the state of rest, harmony, and calm turns into subtle anticipation, distraught anxiety, or an explosive emotional force.

read more

7 NOVEMBER 2008 – 10 DECEMBER 2009

Glass.China

Glass.China was a pioneering exhibition. It showed sculptures of significant Chinese artists together with photographs of China by the German film artist and photographer Ulrike Ottinger. The exhibition captured a rare and extraordinary epoch in the social and cultural development of China and is the first exhibition of an exciting artistic phenomenon that had not been seen outside of China to that date.

read more

12 OCTOBER 2007 – 31 MARCH 2008

The Heart Forever Yearns Away

Quest and yearning were the subjects of this exhibition. In the show entitled The Heart Forever Yearns Away, the renowned foundation for contemporary glass displayed more than 30 glass sculptures. The internationally recognized artists Christiane Budig, Jens Gussek, Ursula Huth, and Sibylle Peretti made the objects especially for this thematic exhibition from Germany.

read more

30 MARCH – 30 NOVEMBER 2006

The Face – Lost and Found Again

We are all experts on faces equipped with an amazing ability to distinguish between a thousand unknown faces and recognize their different feelings. The face has always played a significant role in man’s social life. And in art? With the first two exhibitions, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung had focused on different countries, proving that glass had now become an art genre with a global character. The third exhibition with the explicit subject The face – Lost and Found Again, presented the manifold aspects and appearances of the human face, our privileged instrument of expression.

read more

10 JUNE – 30 NOVEMBER 2005

Glass - A New Experience (2)

The second exhibition of the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung: One of the goals of the foundation is to introduce artists using the material glass to a larger circle of people interested in art. Therefore, exhibitions take place on a regular basis presenting different themes of contemporary studio glass and showing it as what it is – an own form of art. In the first part of the exhibition Glass – A New Experience the focus was on Czech and Eastern European artists. The second part showed objects from the Anglo-American world and Australia.

read more

14 MAY – 14 NOVEMBER 2004

Glass - A New Experience (1)

With the exhibition Glass – A New Experience the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung, then still a young foundation, inaugurated its new exhibition rooms located in a former studio of an Art Nouveau villa in Munich, Schwabing. It presented itself for the first time to the public as a collector of glass sculptures. About 30 of them were shown, purchased within the last two years to set up the foundation’s collection of contemporary glass. The exhibition was supplemented by loans from the private collection of Alexander Tutsek and his wife Dr. Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek.

read more

Ausstellungsarchiv

4. JUNI 2020 – 26. FEBRUAR 2021

About Us. Junge Fotografie aus China

Was erzählt Fotografie über die Lebenserfahrungen des Einzelnen angesichts eines radikalen Wandels der Gesellschaft? Welche Bildsprachen erfindet eine jüngere Generation von Kunstschaffenden in China auf der Suche nach dem eigenen Selbstverständnis? Die Ausstellung präsentierte eine Auswahl von 70 Fotografien aus den letzten 20 Jahren von 14 chinesischen Künstler*innen. Nach Robert Rauschenbergs westlichem Blick auf China in der vorangegangenen Ausstellung zeigten diese Fotografien nun Innenansichten der im Land lebenden Kunstschaffenden.

mehr lesen

22. MÄRZ – 18. OKTOBER 2019

Primäre Gesten

Die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung zeigte unter dem Titel Primäre Gesten Fotografien aus Robert Rauschenberg Serie Study for Chinese Summerhall aus den 1980er Jahren und zeitgenössische Installationen mit dem Medium Glas von Mona Hatoum, Hassan Khan, Jana Sterbak und Terry Winters. Rauschenbergs Fotografien, die sich wie Aufzeichnungen von Gesten des Alltags in einer sich wandelnden chinesischen Gesellschaft lesenwurden in der Ausstellung Skulpturen gegenübergestellt, die alltägliche funktionale Dinge wie einen Knoten oder einen Kreis in ihren Werken aufnehmen und diese primären Gesten in ein künstlerisches Objekt transformieren.

mehr lesen

26. JANUAR – 16. NOVEMBER 2018

Das andere sehen

Die Schau Das andere sehen war Teil der Ausstellungsreihe zeitgenössischer Skulpturen aus Glas von internationalen Künstler*innen. Der Titel der Ausstellung spielte mit dem doppelten Sinn der Worte. Die Arbeiten werfen einen anderen Blick auf die Dinge und zugleich thematisieren sie das Interesse am Anderen: gegenüber dem Ich der Andere, gegenüber dem sichtbaren Körper sein Inneres, gegenüber der Zivilisation die Wildnis, gegenüber der Erde das Universum, gegenüber dem Leben der Tod. Es geht ihnen um die Wahrnehmung des Anderen, um den Zusammenhang von Sehen und Erkennen, um Verstehen.

mehr lesen

20. JANUAR – 20. OKTOBER 2017

lebenswelt | life-world

Unter dem Titel lebenswelt | life-world zeigte die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung zeitgenössische Skulpturen japanischer Künstler*innen sowie Fotografien der japanischen Fotografin Rinko Kawauchi. Subjektive Alltagserfahrungen, zeitliche Abläufe in der Natur, die zwischenmenschliche Kommunikation stehen im Mittelpunkt der Kunstwerke aus Japan.

mehr lesen

22. JANUAR – 2. SEPTEMBER 2016

Life Is Not A Beach

In der Fortsetzung ihrer Themenausstellungen zeigte die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung zeitgenössische Fotografien und Skulpturen. Unter dem Titel Life Is Not A Beach wurden in der Ausstellung die Schattenseiten des Lebens thematisiert.

mehr lesen

17. OKTOBER 2014 – 14. AUGUST 2015

Ann Wolff | Persona

Das zweite Projekt der Ausstellungsreihe Master | Meister widmete die
Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung der deutsch-schwedischen Künstlerin Ann Wolff (geb. 1937). Der Schwerpunkt der Werkauswahl lag auf neuen Skulpturen, die Ann Wolff in den letzten fünf Jahren speziell für diese Ausstellung geschaffen hatte. Gezeigt wurden auch ältere Werke sowie Pastellzeichnungen.

mehr lesen

15. OKTOBER 2013 – 10. APRIL 2014

Wo bist du? Skulpturen von Erwin Eisch

Mit der Ausstellung Wo bist du? Skulpturen von Erwin Eisch startete die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung in München zusätzlich zu ihren Themen- und Länderausstellungen die neue Ausstellungsreihe Master | Meister. Hier werden herausragende Künstlerpersönlichkeiten vorgestellt, die in ihrer Arbeit Glas als Medium des künstlerischen Ausdrucks einsetzen. Den Auftakt bildet mit seinem facettenreichen Werk Erwin Eisch (geb. 1927), einer der Väter der Studioglasbewegung.

mehr lesen

7. FEBRUAR 2012 – 30. APRIL 2013

In the Name of Love

Liebe war und ist in der Kunst ein wichtiges Thema. Der Mensch sehnt sich danach, Liebe und Liebesleid erfassbar zu machen. Von diesem ewigen Versuch zeugen über die Jahrhunderte Literatur, Musik, Malerei und Skulptur. Die Ausstellung In the Name of Love zeigte die vielen Facetten der Liebe. Nicht nur die helle, erwünschte Seite der Liebe wurde beleuchtet, sondern auch ihre verborgene, geheimnisvolle, dunkle. Und dies mit einem Material, das in der Kunst eher selten zu sehen ist: Glas.

mehr lesen

29. MÄRZ – 28. JULI 2011

Diesseits von Afrika

Reisen sind verbunden mit der Sehnsucht nach dem Unbekannten. Die Sehnsucht, das tägliche Leben anders zu erfahren und der Wunsch mit einem veränderten Blick auf die Welt sich selbst neu zu erleben, sind unsere Fortbewegungsmittel, weit mehr als Auto, Flugzeug oder Schiff. Mit diesen Themen beschäftigt sich der Bildhauer Jens Gussek in seinen Arbeiten aus Glas und Mixed Media, wie auch Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek in ihren Fotografien.

mehr lesen

29. APRIL 2010 – 27. JANUAR 2011

Frozen-in Tension

Spannung und Entspannung, Anspannung und Ruhe – diesem Themenkomplex widmete die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung in München die Ausstellung Frozen-in Tension (Eingefrorene Spannung). Der Titel der Ausstellung – ein technischer Begriff aus der Wärmebehandlung – war mehrschichtig: Er sprach Inhalt und Material der Werke an. Die aus flüssigem, heißem Glas gefertigten Skulpturen, dann kalt und erstarrt, schienen auf einen ersten, schnellen Blick in sich zu ruhen. Doch bei längerem oder näherem Betrachten verwandelten sich Ruhe, Gleichmaß, Gelassenheit in subtile Gespanntheit, verstörende Unruhe bis hin zu emotionaler Sprengkraft.

mehr lesen

7. NOVEMBER 2008 – 10. DEZEMBER 2009

Glass.China

Die Ausstellung Glass.China hatte Pioniercharakter. Sie zeigte Skulpturen wichtiger chinesischer Künstler*innen im Zusammenhang mit Fotografien aus China von der deutschen Filmkünstlerin und Fotografin Ulrike Ottinger. Die Ausstellung fing eine seltene und außergewöhnliche Epoche in der gesellschaftlichen sowie künstlerischen Entwicklung Chinas ein und ist die erste Ausstellung eines aufregenden künstlerischen Phänomens, das bis dato außerhalb Chinas so noch nicht zu sehen war.

mehr lesen

12. OKTOBER 2007 – 31. MÄRZ 2008

Und ewig sehnt sich fort das Herz

Suche und Sehnsucht standen thematisch im Mittelpunkt dieser Ausstellung in der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung in München. Unter dem Titel Und ewig sehnt sich fort das Herz wurden mehr als 30 Skulpturen aus Glas gezeigt. Diese wurden von den aus Deutschland stammenden international bekannten Künstler*innen Christiane Budig, Jens Gussek, Ursula Huth und Sibylle Peretti speziell zu dieser Themenausstellung gefertigt.

mehr lesen

30. MÄRZ – 30. NOVEMBER 2006

Das verlorene Gesicht wiedergefunden

Wir sind alle Experten für Gesichter mit einer erstaunlichen Fähigkeit tausende fremde Gesichter zu unterscheiden und darin die unterschiedlichsten Gefühle zu erkennen. Im Zusammenleben der Menschen spielt das Gesicht eine herausgehobene Rolle. Und in der Kunst? Nachdem die beiden ersten Ausstellungen der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung mit ihren Länderschwerpunkten zeigten, dass Glas heute zu einer Kunstrichtung mit globalem Charakter geworden ist, stellte die dritte Ausstellung mit dem expliziten Thema Das verlorene Gesicht wieder gefunden das Gesicht als privilegierte Ausdrucksinstanz des Menschen in den Mittelpunkt.

mehr lesen

10. JUNI – 30. NOVEMBER 2005

Glas neu erleben (2)

Die zweite Ausstellung der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung: Künstler*innen, die das Material Glas verwenden, einem größeren Kreis von Kunstinteressierten bekannt zu machen, ist eines der Ziele der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung. Hierzu werden regelmäßig Ausstellungen mit verschiedenen Themen zum zeitgenössischen Studioglas als Kunstform veranstaltet. Im ersten Teil der Ausstellung Glas neu erleben wurden schwerpunktmäßig tschechische und osteuropäische Künstler*innen vorgestellt. In dem zweiten Teil wurden Objekte aus dem angloamerikanischen Raum und Australien gezeigt.

mehr lesen

14. MAI – 14. NOVEMBER 2004

Glas neu erleben (1)

Mit der Ausstellung Glas neu erleben (1) weihte die damals noch junge Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung ihre neuen Ausstellungsräume in einem ehemaligen Atelier in einer Jugendstilvilla in Schwabing ein und stellte ihre Sammlertätigkeit erstmals der Öffentlichkeit vor. Es wurden ca. 30 Studioglas-Objekte präsentiert, die die Stiftung zum Aufbau ihrer Sammlung von zeitgenössischem Glas in den vorangegangenen zwei Jahren erworben hatte, ergänzt durch Leihgaben aus der privaten Sammlung von Alexander Tutsek und Dr. Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek.

mehr lesen